Skip to main content

Scholarship Winners Notification

We are delighted to announce that our 2024 scholarship recipients have been selected! If you or your student applied, keep an eye on your mail over the next couple of weeks for the notification letter and a fun award package.

Each year, Members First awards six scholarships to high-achieving students in our community.

Members First Credit Union Memorial Scholarship

Three memorial scholarships are awarded in honor of past members of our Board of Directors who have served their communities and the credit union.

John S. Walsh Memorial Scholarship

Manchester firefighter John S. Walsh founded Members First Credit Union in 1949. In the beginning, John operated the credit union out of his briefcase from the Somerville Street fire station. This scholarship was created to honor Mr. Walsh and his passion for Members First and the entire credit union industry.

Wilbur L. Jenkins Memorial Scholarship

Wilbur L. Jenkins served as a Director on the Supervisory Committee of Members First Credit Union for 34 years and was also the first Personnel Director for the City of Manchester. This scholarship was created to honor Mr. Jenkins' loyalty and dedication to Members First Credit Union.

Michael L. Briggs Memorial Scholarship

Officer Michael L. Briggs was a dedicated policeman and five-year veteran of the Manchester Police Department. Wounded in the line of duty, he passed away in October 2006 due to those injuries. This scholarship was created to honor Officer Briggs and his heroic dedication to the City of Manchester.

We’ll announce the 2024 recipients’ names once they have received their notifications.

If you know students in New Hampshire who will be applying to college or who are already attending college, please encourage them to apply in 2025!

View All Blog Posts